Some Brief Comments.

Good afternoon!

  1. The management regrets the lack of consistent posting. Those responsible for the lack of posts have been sacked.
  2. But seriously, yes. I’m breaking one of the cardinal rules of blogging by not posting consistently. I’ll be getting this sorted out shortly.
  3. We’re abandoning the day-of-the-week alliteration in the post titles, because it’s too restrictive. However, I’m keeping “Web’s Wednesday Wit/Wisdom” because I just like it.
  4. Speaking of which, that will be coming sometime tomorrow. Looking forward to that.
  5. As for the rest of the week, I think I’m going to have something posted both Thursday and Friday, if I can find time to finish a few things before then. Dare we hope that this is so? (I think we dare.)
  6. One of the things I will post will be a few thoughts about the direction of the blog. A theme, if you will.
  7. The other of the things may be a book review of something I’ve been reading and benefiting greatly from, this week.
  8. In the meantime, I would invite you to post below in the comments if there’s something you’d like to talk about in the next week or two.
  9. You should in no way interpret that last request as evidence that I’ve run out of things to talk about, and that a lack of inspiration is the real reason for the lack of consistent posting.
  10. Though if you did interpret that request in such a way, well, you wouldn’t be far from the truth.
  11. I wonder if this numbered list is getting tedious yet.
  12. Is it getting tedious? Would you tell me if it was? Were? Should it be “was” or “were” in that sentence?
  13. I’m leaning toward “were,” based on the proper usage “if I were.” But I could be wrong about that.
  14. You should go check out “The Maze Runner,” in theaters this Friday. I got to see a sneak preview. It was really good.
  15. Are you still reading this? If so, please post random letters and numbers followed by the word “Bonzai!” in the comments below.
  16. Don’t forget the exclamation point. That’s how you prove you’re not a robot.
  17. Do you ever laugh when you get that verification text on a website? Prove you’re human–type these random letters and numbers.
  18. I always imagine there’s some sad robot somewhere who just wants to surf the internet and share his little robot thoughts and feelings on various blogs, and never gets the chance to.
  19. The official policy position of the 4thDaveBlog is that we are against the disenfranchisement of blog-reading robots.
  20. Unless they have red eyes. Never trust the red-eyed robots. The red eye stands for “evil.”
  21. This list has reached the twenties. If you have made it this far, follow-up your previous comment with another comment that lists the title of your favorite song from the nineties.
  22. Why the nineties? Because… I don’t know. The logic worked in my head but I’m having a hard time explaining it now.
  23. I wasn’t even in my twenties, in the nineties.
  24. Maybe it’s my deeply-held wish to be part of Generation X.
  25. Did you ever see the movie “Reality Bites”? Good flick. Kind of a time capsule of Hollywood’s version of Gen-X.
  26. Did you ever read the book “Generation X” by Douglas Coupland? I remember reading it in college and liking it quite a bit.
  27. There are lots of things I liked in college and in my twenties that I find I pretty much can’t stand now.
  28. “Garden State”? Can’t stand that movie now. Not even the soundtrack.
  29. Of course, some things remain over the years. For example, I still love 90’s music.
  30. Oh yeah, we were talking about 90’s music, weren’t we?
  31. If you don’t have a favorite song from the nineties, you should type “Don’t Speak” by No Doubt in the comments section below.
  32. I’m convinced that “Don’t Speak” is one of the most perfect pop songs from the nineties. So many layers of instrumentation.
  33. What’s that? You want to bring Nirvana into this conversation? I said “POP” song.
  34. You weren’t thinking of Nirvana at all? Ugh. Nevermind.
  35. If you laughed at me for thinking the No Doubt song is the best pop song of the nineties, don’t tell me–cuz it hurts.
  36. Okay. I think I’ve driven this bit into the ground. Stay tuned tomorrow for something much more useful and edifying.
  37. Or impactful and contextifying.
  38. Or something and something else.
  39. It looks like it’s about to rain. Hmm.
  40. Okay, I’m going now. Bye.

Leave a comment