Friday Feed (8/13/2021)

Photo by Marta Branco on Pexels.com

Happy Friday, friends! I’m back with a few tasty treats for your end-of-the-week enjoyment. And hey, not just videos, how ’bout that! Here we go!

====

  • Back at the end of June, Rod Dreher talked to a couple of anonymous professionals about working inside a “woke” corporation. Some interesting observations here. (Gotta admit, some of this feels very familiar.)
  • This post, reflecting on one of the stories of 9/11 twenty years later, is a bit of an emotional rollercoaster, but it’s a worthwhile read.

=====

And now, because I know you love it (I do, too!): The video round-up!

(Minor note: Some of these may have some inappropriate language; I honestly don’t remember. I don’t typically like to share clips with a lot of profanity, so I doubt I would have saved these links if there were a lot here. But I can’t recall for sure, so use your judgment and your headphones, just in case.)

I found out about “blaseball” a few weeks ago, and I’m intrigued and bewildered–in a really good way.

This video blew my mind a bit: how Jon Favreau’s indie gem Chef is really about…Iron Man?

I am become a fan of the channel “Full-Fat Videos.” I think they do great work there, and this video about Doctor Who and the introduction of the Eleventh Doctor is bang-on.

And finally, a clip from France’s version of The Voice.

A bit of explanation: I’ve become a fan of watching clips from all versions of The Voice, including all the international versions. I’m a sucker for it. I really tear up when the friends and family members of the performers start crying when their loved one gets a chair to turn during the audition. Ugh. Kills me. Anyway, this song popped up on a few different playlists, and I was mesmerized. It’s a beautiful track that carries a lot of emotion. In the clip, you see that the bald judge (Pascal Obispo) is moved to tears. As it happens, it’s *his* song, a song that became an unexpected hit in France and one that carries a lot of importance for him. The lyrics of the song talk about the passage of time and ephemeral nature of love, and the name “Lucie” happens to be the name of his beloved grandmother (though, from what I read, the original version of the song had a different name before he was presented with it). Anyway, you don’t need to know all that to get the vibe. This is a beautiful track, and I wanted to share it with you. Enjoy.

=====

That’s it. Happy weekend, everyone!

Leave a comment