Happy New Year?!?

I was just listening to a message by Dr. Don Whitney to seminary students, exhorting them to care for their souls through practice of spiritual disciplines, particularly Bible intake and prayer. And as I was listening, I had the thought of, “Man, I need to make some changes. I need to devote specific daily time to my spiritual life. That would be so great. I should start that…sometime.”

If you’re like me, you tend to punt those kinds of changes in habit or pattern to the beginning of the new year. I need to lose X pounds. I need to start running. I want to start writing that book. I need to read the Bible more. I’ll get to it…sometime.

As soon as I thought that, I shook my head and thought, Why would I wait until then?

If you’ve struggled with putting off a needed change, the question I need to ask you–the question I’m asking myself–is this:  “Is that thing really worth doing?” Because if the answer is “yes!” — then it’s worth doing now.

It doesn’t have to be huge or world-changing. It can be something small. It could be a minor tweak in your daily routine that shifts things for the better.

So, I’ve got a wacky idea: no preamble, no build-up, no “I need to think about it for a few days”–let’s just do it now.

I say that TOMORROW is the start of a “new year.”  Why? Because the 1st of the month is as good a time as any to get things back on track.

So starting tomorrow, October 1st, I’m going to try reading the Bible for at least 30 minutes a day. And I want you to keep me honest about it. Hit me up on Twitter, ask me about it. I’m giving you permission!

Then, on October 31st, I’ll pick another new habit or practice that I want to try to incorporate into my daily life in November. (November, huh? Any guesses what that will be?)

And here’s the thing: I may try and fail. We may do well for a few weeks and fade. That’s totally okay. Why? Because we can get up and begin again. Maybe November 1st is the beginning of a new year, too.

Anyone want to jump on this with me? What do we have to lose, really?

So consider today New Years Eve, gang. What do you want to start? Post it below in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year?!?

  1. I like that idea and the idea of making new goals for each month!! My goal for October is to write in a prayer journal every day… it’s something that was a good habit once upon a time and I’d like to pick it up again.

Leave a Reply

