Mote, meet beam.

I saw a pastor tweet something partisan and petty on Twitter just now, and I started writing a blog post about it. I was going to break out some scathing invective about how pastors who spend all their social media capital on playing politics are blowing a ministry opportunity and pushing people away from the Gospel. I was ready to sub-blog with both barrels.

Then I took a second and reviewed my own Twitter timeline. While there were some tweets about the Gospel, or retweets of Biblical thoughts or links from others, a lot of my tweets are really…meaningless. Contest entries to win silly toys and pointless prizes.  Comments on pop culture items and social media trends. Inside jokes with friends.

If I used the same standard to judge my own social media output that I used to judge that pastor’s partisan posturing on social media, I would be just as guilty.

What’s the lesson here? Two things.

One, I need to remember that social media is a gift from God and a tool that should be used for His glory and the good of others. There’s nothing wrong with fun and games, but if my online life is dominated by nonsense, I should take a moment to consider if I’m using it to its greatest potential.

Two, before I take a shot at someone for tweeting, posting, or sharing something that I think is “off-message” and distracting people from what’s most important, I need to take a second, check my own eyes for any stray logs, and *then* help my brother.

Seems to me I’ve read that somewhere before.

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, andwith the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

(Matt. 7:1-5, ESV)

 

One thought on “Mote, meet beam.

Leave a Reply

